Research Seminar

Spring 2014

Friday April 4, 10:30-noon, in the Rose Room (UW1 280)

Kamal Jain, e-Bay Research
Algorithmic Game Theory of eBay's Buyer-Selling Matching


Thursday April 10,  10:45-12:15, in the Rose Room (UW1-280)

Professor Mary E. Barth, Stanford University (Dean's Distinguished Speaker Series)
Conservatism and the Information Content of Earnings


Friday May 2, 10:30-noon, Location: TBA

Xiaowen Jiang, Wayne State University
The Information Content of Aggregate Book-Tax Differences


Friday May 9, 3:30-5:00 PM, Location: TBA

Sushil Khanna, Indian Institute of Management, Calcutta
Corporate Governance in the Asian Context


< · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · >


Winter 2014

Friday January 17, 10:30-noon in UW2-340

Recruiting


Friday January 24, 10:30-noon in UW2-340

Recruiting


Friday February 14, 10:30-noon in UW2-340

Che-Wei (Scott) Chiu, University of Texas at Dallas
Intra-Industry Connectedness and the Corporate Information Environment


Friday February 21, 10:30-noon in UW2-340

Dan Eshleman, LSU
Does the Market Overweight Imprecise Information?: Evidence from Customer Earnings Announcements


Friday February 28, 10:30-noon in UW2-340

Hangsoo Kyung, CUNY-Baruch
Does SEC Interpretive Guidance Affect Firm Behavior? Evidence from Non-GAAP Earnings Disclosure


Tuesday March 4, 10:30-noon in the Rose Room (UW1 280)

Denis Trapido, Stanford/UC Irvine
When Does Originality Help New Knowledge Earn Pre-Commercial Recognition? The Role of Contextual Positioning


Friday March 7, 10:30-noon in UW2-340

Hyung Il Oh, Columbia
A New Accounting Approach to Evaluate M&A Prices and Goodwill Allocations


Friday March 14, 10:30-noon in UW2-131

Praveen Sinha, California State University, Long Beach
The Role of Financial Analysts’ Tone in Interpreting Management Disclosure Tone in Conference Calls


< · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · > < · >


Fall 2013

Friday October 4 at 10:30 a.m. in the Rose Room (UW1-280)

Sundar Balakrishnan and Surya Pathak, University of Washington - Bothell, School of Business
Impeding the Juggernaut of Innovation Diffusion: A Production Constrained Model


Friday October 11 at 10:30 a.m. in UW1-050

Recruiting


Tuesday October 15 at 10:30 a.m. in the Rose Room (UW1-280)

Recruiting


Wednesday October 16 Brown Bag at noon in the Rose Room (UW1-280)

Fehmi Tanrisever, Bilkent University
Avoiding capability traps through contingent contracts: The role of cash and knowhow in startups


Friday October 25 at 10:30 a.m. in UW1-050

Recruiting


Monday October 28 at 10:30 a.m. in the Rose Room (UW1-280)

Recruiting


Friday November 1 at 10:30 a.m. in the Rose Room (UW1-280)

Recruiting


Friday November 15

2013 Accounting Business Ethics Conference


Monday December 9 at 10:30 a.m. in UW2-327

Recruiting