Center for International Education

CPT

Curricular Practical Training (CPT)

CPT is a type of off-campus employment and requires authorization from ISS. You must meet with ISS to discuss in advance your eligibility. CPT provides you authorization during your program of study to engage in temporary employment (such as an internship) to gain practical experience in your major.

What is an internship?
An internship is a short term opportunity (typically 3 weeks to 6 months) to provide practical experience related to your field of study.

Contact the Career Center to learn about internship opportunties, how to build your resume, how to search for jobs, and how to prepare for your job interview! UW Career Centers have excellent resources about internships and how to search for an appropriate experience:

Workshop: How to Apply for CPT

Interested to do a paid off-campus internship? Come to our informational session to learn about how you can apply for CPT work authorization. CIE will share information to help you through the application process, and answer your questions.

2015-2016 CPT Workshop Schedule : All workshops held in Husky Hall, Room 1160A:
  • Monday, October 12 @ 3pm
  • Friday, October 23 @1 pm
  • Thursday, November 5 @ 11am
  • Tuesday, November 17 @ 2pm
  • Thursday, December 3 @ 1pm
  • Friday, January 15 @ 1pm
  • Wednesday, January 27 @ 3pm
  • Thursday, February 4 @ 11am
  • Tuesday, February 23 @ 1pm
  • Monday, February 29 @ 3pm
  • Friday, March 4 @ 1pm
  • Friday, April 1 @ 1pm
  • Wednesday, April 13 @ 3pm
  • Tuesday, April 26 @ 1:30pm
  • Thursday, May 5 @ 11am
  • Monday, May 16 @ 3pm
  • Friday, May 27 @1pm
  • Wednesday, June 1 @ 2pm

Workshop: Job Search Strategies for International Students

Looking for work presents special challenges for international students. This workshop will cover best practices and strategies for seeking and applying for jobs. Information on OPT and CPT will also be presented. Students to read the workshop information online as well.

  • Tuesday, October 27, 2015 from 3:00pm - 4:00pm in UW1-103
  • Wednesday, November 18, 2015 from 3:00pm - 4:00pm in UW1-103
  • Tuesday, April 5, 2016 from 2:00-3:00pm in UW1-103