Faculty & Staff

Welcome. Here, we are all learners.

“When students are able to see themselves in the curriculum, it uplifts them in every way. I became hooked on teaching, on the joy of working with students and engaging them in the stories and histories of their respective communities, in their contributions, not just here in Washington, but nationally.”

Dr. Tyson Marsh 

Faculty

Wayne Au, Ph.D.
Dean and Professor
wayneau@uw.edu

Yue Bian, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
bianyue@uw.edu

Allison Hintz, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
ahintz@uw.edu

Nathanie A. Lee, Ph.D.
Assistant Teaching Professor
nalee@uw.edu

Tyson E.J. Marsh, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
tysonm@uw.edu

Natasha Hakimali Merchant, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
nmerch@uw.edu

Jason Naranjo, Ph.D.
Associate Teaching Professor
jnaranjo@uw.edu

Sarah B. Shear, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
shearsb@uw.edu

Sarita Shukla, Ph.D.
Assistant Teaching Professor
shuklas@uw.edu

Antony Smith, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
smithant@uw.edu

Carrie Tzou, Ph.D.
Professor
tzouct@uw.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Cherry A. McGee Banks, Ed.D.
Professor Emerita
camb@uw.edu

Thomas Bellamy, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
tbellamy@uw.edu

Pamela Bolotin Joseph, Ph.D.
Principal Lecturer Emerita
pbjoseph@uw.edu

Brad Portin, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
bportin@uw.edu

Jane Van Galen, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita
vangalen@uw.edu

Staff

Pooja Arora
Program Coordinator
pooja13@uw.edu

Karen Brusseau
Elementary Placement Coordinator
karenb2@uw.edu

Amy Couto
Assistant Director of Academic Services
acouto@uw.edu

Marisa DuBois
Director of Academic Services
mdubois@uw.edu

Jon Howeiler
K12 Partnerships and Field Placement Coordinator
jonuwb@uw.edu

Alex Martinez
Student Engagement Intern
alexmtz@uw.edu

Lilyan Nguyen
Social Media & Communications Intern
lilyan21@uw.edu

Yvette Pabustan
Academic Advisor
ypabs@uw.edu

Ryan Pete
Administrative Assistant
rpete@uw.edu

Monica Pham
Student Recruiting Manager
mlp232@uw.edu

Cristal Rangel Peña
Academic Advisor
cristalr@uw.edu

Carmen Staab
Administrator
crs6@uw.edu

Field Instructors

Staci Allen
sallen@lwsd.org

Heather Brown
hbrown12@uw.edu

Nancy Garvey
nwgarvey@uw.edu

Salina Greig
sgreig@nsd.org

Lynora Hirata
lhirata@uw.edu

Helena Manley
hj@uw.edu

Lori O’Brien
leob@uw.edu

Michelle Ota
mota@seattleschools.org

Pam Pifer
ppifer@gmail.com

Laura Storme
laurae@uw.edu

JoAnn Todd-Waller
jotodd@uw.edu