Kentico CMS

Managing Pages

Create a new page

  1. Within the content navigation tree, select the parent document that your new document will be a subpage of.
  2. On the document actions area, click on the plus icon. 
    content management highlighting the plus icon that creates a new page
  3. Select UWB Page: Standard to create a new web page.

  4. This will redirect you to a new screen to choose your page template. Select the desired template and click Continue.
    Continue button

  5. The Name field is the name that will be the document's URL and within the content tree; this is not the page title. Make sure to use a short, clear, and unique name. Kentico will auto adjust to lower case letters and insert hyphens when the space bar is hit. Do not combine words together to avoid hyphens; this is not search engine friendly (please see the SEO documentation here). 

New Document name field

URL will be www.uwb.edu/website/example-doc-name based on document name and location


Delete a page

Typically only Publishers can delete pages, since deleted pages creates broken links, so clean-up work must follow any pages being renamed or deleted.

To delete a document, first click on the document you want to delete. You can either click on the Recycle bin icon in the content management toolbar or right click the document and select Delete from the dropdown menu.

You will be given two options on what to do with the deleted document. We recommend the second option of "redirecting old URLs to another page" so when visitors try to access a deleted document they will be directed to a live page rather than a broken link. Our team recommends not destroy documents so that content editors have the ability to restore pages if needed.

Deleting documents options


Restore a previous page version

Kentico CMS provides you with the option to "rollback" to previous version of the page you're working on and it will restore the page you're currently working on to look like the previous version.

  1. After checking out the page, select Versions from the Properties tab.

  2. Select a previous version and click the arrow as indicated below to roll back to that version.

Note: Once you rollback to a previous version and you save, a newer version will be added, even if no changes are made. 

  1. In order to work with the properties of a document you must be in the Properties Tab, and Versions Sub menu
  2. You can do three things from this window:
    • View Version Information by clicking on the Version icon 
    • Roll Back to an older version by clicking on the Roll back icon 
    • Delete a previous version with the Recycle bin icon 

Restore a deleted page

Content editors with publisher level permission can restore documents that they deleted. You can also contact uwbadv@uw.edu for help with recovering deleted documents.

  1. Click on the Kentico logo on the left hand of the top purple navigation bar to open the Applications Menu. 
  2. Click Recycle bin. Select Pages on the left panel. This will display a list of all of your deleted pages.
    Deleted pages
  3. Find the deleted document and click Restore.
    deleted doc recovery button
  4. Now you can switch back to the Content tab and you will see the restored document added back to the default location.

Note: Do NOT click on the red recycle bin icon. The document will be permanently deleted and cannot be restored at that point.


Changing document order

The order documents appear in on the live site navigation is determined by the order they're in within the Content Navigation Tree. Moving documents within the same parent document will not break hyperlinks. If you move the document out of the level, then it will break any existing hyperlinks. Example: If I want "bizforms" to appear above "kentico" on the live site, then I can click and drag it above "kentico." If I move it to be at the same level as "documentation" or "calendar" then I will break the hyperlink.

Kentico Content Tree levels

To move a document within the same level of the content tree:

  1. Click the page you want to relocate in the content tree and click the Down or Up button in the document action toolbar. You'll see that your page has been moved.
    content management up down buttons
  2. Now switch to the Live site view mode (if your page is already published) and you will see that your page has been moved in the site navigation as well.

Moving documents to another section

Before doing this, it is best to contact the Office of Advancement, who can help ensure a usable and consistent information architecture for your website. The email is uwbadv@uw.edu.

To move a document to another level of the content tree:

  1. Click the page you want to move in the content tree. Then click the Move button in the document action toolbar.
    content management move button
  2. In the web dialog, click on the document where you want to move your page (e.g. the sustainability top level) and then click the green Move button at the bottom right corner.

Move document window example

Your page has been moved to the chosen location.