Student government reorganizes around themes

ASUWB board

The 2018 ASUWB. / Marc Studer photos

To be more responsive to student needs, the University of Washington Bothell student government is organized this year around theme-based projects. The executive board includes directors of community relations, student advocacy, outreach and marketing, government relations,and internal affairs. And some of the directors are paired with senators, who are no longer chosen to represent a class year, such as junior or senior.

The Associated Students of the University of Washington Bothell (ASUWB) serves as a voice for students, enhances the student experience and connects with faculty, staff and alumni. Read the ASUWB kickoff flyer. Here’s a brief look at the new student leaders and their roles as of September 2018:

President Leah Shin, senior, Business Administration, and Interactive Media Design.






Shugla KakarVice President Shugla Kakar, junior, Gender, Women and Sexuality Studies (GWSS).






Rayyan HussainDirector of Community Relations Rayyan Hussain, junior, Computer Science and Software Engineering.






Alondra Pangilinan Tacuyan, Warisha Soomro, Afua TiwaaFrom left: Senator of Student Advocacy Alondra Pangilinan Tacuyan, sophomore applying for Business Administration.
Director of Student Advocacy Warisha Soomro, junior, Interactive Media Design.
Senator of Student Advocacy Afua Tiwaa, junior, Biology.


Dev Ashish Mathur, John Kim, Malea CapunoFrom left: Senator of Outreach and Marketing Dev Ashish Mathur, sophomore, computer science.
Director of Outreach and Marketing John Kim, junior, Interactive Media Design, and Management Information Systems.
Senator of Outreach and Marketing Malea Capuno, junior, Biology.


Aaron YaredDirector of Government Relations Aaron Yared, Master of Arts in Policy Studies.





Nadia Mabrouk, Ariana NavarroFrom left: Director of Internal Affairs Nadia Mabrouk, senior, Accounting.
Senator of Internal Affairs Ariana Navarro, senior, Business Administration.




In addition, the ASUWB has two non-voting staff members:

Caleb LohrmannParliamentarian Caleb Lohrmann, senior, Computer Science and Software Engineering.






Zack NelsonTreasurer Zachary Nelson, junior, Media & Communication Studies.






Sam Al-KhouryThe ASUWB adviser is Sam Al-Khoury, the director of Student Engagement & Activities.


Contact us

Office of Marketing & Communications:

Media inquiries

Maria Lamarca Anderson
Director of Communications
206-960-3851 (mobile)

Share your news

Our team works to uncover and tell UW Bothell’s best stories in support of our mission and goals.

Share your story

Post archive