2018 Pauling Medal

2018 Linus Pauling Medal

In autumn 2018, the Pauling Medal Award Symposium will be hosted by the University of Washington Bothell. More information on the symposium will be provided in summer 2018.

The Linus Pauling Medal recognizes outstanding achievement in chemistry and is presented annually by the PortlandPuget Sound, and Oregon Sections of the American Chemical Society. The award is named after Dr. Linus Pauling, a native of the Pacific Northwest, because of the inspiration of his example. Information on past Pauling Medal recipients can be found on The Pauling Blog.


Nominations for the 2018 Linus Pauling Medal

We are currently accepting nominations for the 2018 Linus Pauling Medal. Questions about the nomination and award process should be sent to Dr. Kim Gunnerson (gunnek@uw.edu), the Award Chair.

Submit a nomination for the 2018 Linus Pauling Medal

Submit a support letter for a 2018 Linus Pauling Medal nominee


Pauling Medal Award Committee



2018 Pauling Medal