Managing Attached Files in Google Sites

Managing Attached Files

Managing Attached Files in Google Sites from UWB Learning Tech on Vimeo.

Video Script


When working on your ePortfolio, you will probably have attached many files to different pages. Google Sites includes a central attachment manager that allows you to see all attachments on every page in your site and manage them without having to go to each individual page where the file is attached.

While logged in to your site, click on the More button at the top right corner of the page and select Manage Site from the drop down menu. On the left menu bar, select the Attachments page. This page will bring up all files that have been uploaded to your site.

From this central repository, details for each of the attachments will be listed next to the file such as the location of the file, the size, when it was last edited, and links to previous versions of the file which you can download. You can easily move attachments from one page to another page, rename files, update an existing file with a newer version, or delete files within this page. We will go over each of these options.


Moving Files


To move files, select the checkbox next to the files that you want to move and click on the Move button at the top row. This will bring up a directory of your site where you can select where to move the file(s). To move the file to a page, simply select the page from the directory and click Move.


Renaming a File


To rename a file, select the checkbox next to a file that you want to rename and click the Rename button at the top row. You can then type in a new name for the file.
Replacing or Updating a File
Replacing a file simply overwrites a new file over the existing file. This is useful for updating documents that have changed since when you first attached them to a page. To do this, simply select the checkbox next to a file that you want to replace and click the Replace button. You will be prompted to select a file from your computer with which to replace the current file.

If you want to download a previous version of a file, click on the number under the revisions column. This number represents the number of changes that were made to the file.


Deleting Files


If you want to remove files from your site, simply select the checkboxes next to the files that you want to delete and click on the Delete button. This removes the files from your site. If you accidentally delete a file, there is a limited time window for you to recover deleted files before they are permanently erased. You can recover deleted files by selecting the Deleted Items page from the left menu bar.