Cultural Studies

Dates & Deadlines

Note

This list of important dates and deadlines is updated quarterly, and is subject to change.

On a yearly basis, dates and deadlines adjust slightly, but the calendar cycle is similar.  

Autumn 2022

Students: Year 2 

Week 3: Fri, Oct 14 - Meet with Capstone Advisor (CA) by this date
Week 4: Fri, Oct 21 - Meet with Portfolio Advisor (PA) by this date
Week 6: Fri, Nov 4 - First draft of Capstone Proposal due to CA by this date
Week 7: Fri, Nov 11 - Meet with CA to discuss proposal and revisions by this date
Week 11: Mon, Dec 5- Submit Capstone Proposal to CA for review
Week 12: Wed, Dec 14  –Submit Capstone Proposal Form, including abstract/summary of proposal, to Graduate Office

Faculty & Staff

Week 12: Fri, Dec 16 –Capstone Advisors Proposal Review (Year 2) due via Review/Approval Form (UWNetID Required)

Winter 2023

Students: Year 2

Week 1: Fri, Jan 6 – Meet with CA by this date
Week 6: Tues, Feb 7 – Careers & Cultural Work panel (TBC)
Week 9: Fri, Mar 3 – Meet with PA and CA by this date  

Spring 2023

Students: Year 2

Week 1: Mon, Mar 27 - First chance to submit Master's Degree Request
Week 3: Fri, Apr 14 -Deadline for submitting Commencement Program Changes
Week 6: Deadline to submit conference abstract and info via Qualtrics (TBC)
Week 8: Present at Cultural Studies Graduate Research Conference (TBC)
Week 9: Wed, May 24 - Submit Capstone Project to Capstone Advisor
Week 10: Thurs, Jun 1 - Submit Final Portfolio to Portfolio Advisor
Week 11: Thurs, Jun 8 - Submit archival copy of Capstone Portfolio. See instructions.
Week 11: Fri, Jun 9 - Last chance to submit Master's Degree Request
Week 11: TBD - Graduate Hooding [Bothell Graduation – UW Bothell Sports Field]
Week 12: Sun, Jun 11 - Graduation [Bothell Commencement – Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion]

See more Commencement updates and FAQs here

Faculty & Staff

Week 8: Attend Cultural Studies Graduate Research Conference (TBC)
Week 10: Wed, May 31 - CA approvals  (Year 2) due to students and Graduate Programs (Use form)
Week 11: Wed, Jun 7 - PA approvals (Year 2) due to students and Graduate Programs (Use form)
Week 12: Tues, Jun 13 - Grades due
Week 12: Thurs, Jun 15 - Warrants due for priority graduation