Cultural Studies

Dates & Deadlines

Note

This list of important dates and deadlines is updated quarterly, and is subject to change.

On a yearly basis, dates and deadlines adjust slightly, but the calendar cycle is similar.  

Autumn 2020

Students: Year 1 

Week 4: Tues, Oct 20 – Meet up with Portfolio Advisor (PA) by this date (informal)
Week 6:  Tues, Nov 3 - Meet with PA by this date (electives and review)
Week 12: Tues, Dec 15 –Submit Portfolio to BCULST 500 instructor; provide access to PA

Students: Year 2 

Week 2: Fri, Oct 16 - Meet with Capstone Advisor (CA) by this date
Week 4: Fri, Oct 23 - Meet with PA by this date
Week 6: Fri, Nov 6 First draft of Capstone Proposal due to CA by this date
Week 7: Fri, Nov 13 - Meet with CA to discuss proposal and revisions by this date
Week 11: Mon, Dec 7 - Submit Capstone Proposal to CA for review and final feedback
Week 12: Wed, Dec 16 –Submit Capstone Proposal Form, including abstract/summary of proposal, to Graduate Office

Faculty & Staff

Week 2: Thurs, Oct 8, 1:30-2:30 pm - Collaboratories and Core Working Groups Meetings
Week 5: Thurs, Oct 29 1:15-3:15 pm - MACS CAWG Meeting/Collaboratories and Core Working Groups Meetings
Week 7: Thurs, Nov 12, 4- 6 pm  - MACS Prospective Student Day
Week 8: Thurs, Nov 19, 1:30-2:30 pm - Collaboratories and Core Working Groups Meetings
Week 10: Thurs, Dec 3 – 1:30-2:30 pm - Collaboratories and Core Working Groups Meetings
Week 12: Fri, Dec 18 – Capstone Advisors Proposal Review (Year 2) due via Review/Approval Form (UWNetID Required)

Winter 2021 

Students: Year 1 

Week 5:  Fri, Feb 5 – Meet with PA by this date
Week 6: Tues, Feb 9 5:45-7:30pm - Attend Careers & Cultural Work panel 

Students: Year 2

Week 1: Fri, Jan 8 – Meet with CA by this date
Week 6: Tues, Feb 9 – BCULST 511 Attend Careers & Cultural Work panel
Week 9: Fri, Mar 5– Meet with PA and CA by this date  

Faculty & Staff

Week 5: Mon, Feb 1 - Priority Admissions Deadline for Autumn 2021
Week 8: Week of Feb 22-26 - MACS Admissions Committee Meeting  

Spring 2021

Students: Year 1

Week 4: Fri, Apr 23 - Submit Portfolio Draft to PA
Week 6: Fri, May 7 - Meet with PA by this date
Week 7: Tues, May 11 -Submit Capstone Pre-proposal and Advisor Nomination
Week 9: Fri, May 29 -Capstone Advisor assignments finalized
Week 10: Wed, Jun 2 - Submit revised portfolio to PA

Students: Year 2

Week 1: Mon, Mar 29 - First chance to submit Master's Degree Request
Week 3: Fri, Apr 16 -Deadline for submitting Commencement Program Changes
Week 5: TBC- Deadline to submit conference abstract and info via Catalyst
Week 8: TBC - Present at Graduate Research Conference 
Week 9: Wed, May 26 - Submit Capstone Project to CA for approval
Week 10: Thurs, Jun 3 - Submit Final Portfolio (including Capstone Project) to PA for approval
Week 11: Thurs, Jun 11 - Submit archival copy of Final Portfolio to the Graduate Programs.  See instructions.
Week 11: Fri, Jun 11 - Last chance to submit Master's Degree Request
Week 11: Sat, Jun 12 - Hooding [Bothell Graduation – Mobius Hall] Tentative
Week 12: Sun, Jun 13 - Graduation [Bothell Commencement – Safeco Field] Tentative

Faculty & Staff

Week 1: Fri, Apr 2, 10:00 am - 12:00 pm - MACS Admitted Student Day
Week 10: Wed, Jun 2 - CA approvals  (Year 2) due to students and Graduate Programs (Use form)
Week 11: Wed, Jun 9 - PA approvals (Year 1 and 2) due to students and Graduate Programs (Use form)
Week 12: Tues, Jun 16 - Grades due