Cultural Studies

Dates & Deadlines

Note

This list of important dates and deadlines is updated quarterly, and is subject to change.

On a yearly basis, dates and deadlines adjust slightly, but the calendar cycle is similar.  

Autumn 2021

Students: Year 1 

Week 1: Tues, Sept 28, 6-8 pm   Cultural Studies Orientation Session online
Week 5: Tues, Oct 19 Meet up with Portfolio Advisor (PA) by this date (informal)
Week 6:  Tues, Nov 2 - Meet with PA by this date (electives and draft portfolio review)
Week 12: Tues, Dec 14 Submit Portfolio to BCULST 500 instructor; provide access to portfolio advisor

Students: Year 2 

Week 3: Fri, Oct 15 - Meet with Capstone Advisor (CA) by this date
Week 4: Fri, Oct 22 - Meet with Portfolio Advisor (PA) by this date
Week 6: Fri, Nov 5 - First draft of Capstone Proposal due to CA by this date
Week 7: Fri, Nov 12 - Meet with CA to discuss proposal and revisions by this date
Week 11: Mon, Dec 6- Submit Capstone Proposal to CA for review
Week 12: Wed, Dec 15  –Submit Capstone Proposal Form, including abstract/summary of proposal, to Graduate Office

Faculty & Staff

Week 1: Tues, Sept 28, 6-8 pm   Cultural Studies Orientation Session online
Week 6: Tues, Nov 2, 4:30-5:30 pm Prospective Student Day online
Week 12: Fri, Dec 17 –Capstone Advisors Proposal Review (Year 2) due via Review/Approval Form (UWNetID Required)
Week 13: Tues, Dec 21 -Portfolio Advisors Portfolio Review (Year 1) due via Portfolio Review form (UWNetID Required)

Winter 2022

Students: Year 1 

Week 5:  Fri, Feb 4 – Meet with PA by this date
Week 6:  Tues, Feb 8 - Careers & Cultural Work panel (TBC)

Students: Year 2

Week 1: Fri, Jan 7– Meet with CA by this date
Week 6: Tues, Feb 8 – Careers & Cultural Work panel (TBC)
Week 9: Fri, Mar 4– Meet with PA and CA by this date  

Faculty & Staff

Week 5: Tues, Feb 1 Priority Application Deadline
Week 8: Feb 22-25 Admissions Committee Meeting 

Spring 2022

Students: Year 1 

Week 4: Fri, Apr 22 - Draft of first portfolio due to PA  
Week 6: Fri, May 6 – Meet with PA by this date
Week 7: Tues, May 10  -Submit Capstone Pre-proposal and Advisor Nomination
Week 8: Attend Cultural Studies Graduate Research Conference (TBC)
Week 9: Fri, May 27 -Capstone Advisor assignments finalized
Week 10: Wed, Jun 1 - Submit revised portfolio to PA

Students: Year 2

Week 1: Mon, Mar 28 - First chance to submit Master's Degree Request
Week 3: Fri, Apr 15 -Deadline for submitting Commencement Program Changes
Week 6: Deadline to submit conference abstract and info via Catalyst (TBC)
Week 8: Present at Cultural Studies Graduate Research Conference (TBC)
Week 9: Wed, May 25 - Submit Capstone Project to Capstone Advisor
Week 10: Thurs, Jun 2 - Submit Final Portfolio to Portfolio Advisor
Week 11: Thurs, Jun 9 - Submit archival copy of Capstone Portfolio. See instructions.
Week 11: Fri, Jun 10 - Last chance to submit Master's Degree Request
Week 11: Sat, Jun 11 - Hooding [Bothell Graduation – Mobius Hall] Tentative
Week 11: Sun, Jun 12 - Graduation [Bothell Commencement – Safeco Field] Tentative

See more Commencement updates and FAQs here

Faculty & Staff

Week 1 or 2 - MACS Admitted Student Day (TBC)
Week 8: - Attend Cultural Studies Graduate Research Conference (TBC)
Week 10: Wed, Jun 1 - CA approvals  (Year 2) due to students and Graduate Programs (Use form)
Week 11: Wed, Jun 8 - PA approvals (Year 1 and 2) due to students and Graduate Programs (Use form)
Week 12: Tues, Jun 14 - Grades due
Week 12: Thurs, Jun 16 - Warrants due for priority graduation