CIAC Team Directory

Directory of IA & Cybersecurity staff, faculty, and researchers

UW IA & Cybersecurity faculty and researchers span all three campuses, University of Washington Seattle, Bothell & Tacoma. We also partner with industry professionals. Our aim is to provide the most robust learning opportunities for cybersecurity students & professionals. 


CIAC Team

Barbara Endicott-Popovsky, Ph.D.
CIAC Executive Director
Phone: 206-240-0345
Email: endicott@uw.edu
Endicott-Popovsky's CV/UW Profile

Scott David, J.D., LL.M.
Director of Policy
Phone: 206-897-1466
Email: sldavid@uw.edu

Fred B Holt, Ph.D., MBA
Business Strategist
Email: fredbholt@uw.edu

Morgan Zantua
Director, Workforce Development
Phone: 206-685-0548
Email: zan5@uw.edu

Christine Hahn
Student Web Administrator
Email: chahn8@uw.edu

 

UW Professionals

Kirk Bailey
UW Chief Information Security Officer
Phone: 206-685-0116
Email: ciso@uw.edu
Office of the CISO's website

 

UW Electrical Engineering

Radha Poovendran, Ph.D.
Department Chair/Professor
Phone: 206-616-0959
Email: chair@ee.washington.edu
Poovendran's UW profile, website

 

UW Computer Science Engineering

Tadayoshi Kohno (Yoshi Kohno) Ph.D.
Short-Dooley Professor
Adjunct Professor, EE
Adjunct Professor, Information School
Phone: 206-685-4853
Email: yoshi@cs.washington.edu
Kohno's UW profile

Melody Kadenko, Ph.D.
Program Director, CSE
Phone:  206-543-1695
Email: melody@cs.washington.edu
Kadenko's UW profile

Franziska Roesner, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Email: franzi@cs.washington.edu
Roesner's UW profile, website

 

UW Jackson School International Studies

Jessica Beyer, Ph.D.
Research Scientist/Lecturer
Email: jlbeyer@uw.edu
Beyer's UW profile, website

 

UW Urban Planning and Design

Wendy Freitag
Academic Director, UW Dept. of Urban Design & Planning, Master of Infrastructure Planning & Management
Email: wfreitag@uw.edu
Freitag's UW profile

Eric Yocam, DBA, MS
Affiliate Technical Fellow, Affiliate Instructor                Master of Infrastructre Planning & Management
Email: ericyoc@uw.edu
Yocam's UW profile

 

UW Applied Physics Lab

David Aucsmith
Senior Principal Research Scientist
Affiliate Professor, Computer Science and Engineering
Phone: 206-685-5184
Email: aucsmith@apl.washington.edu
Aucsmith's UW profile

David Jones
Director, EIS Center & Senior Principal Oceanographer
Phone: 206-543-3236
Email: dwjones@apl.washington.edu
Jones's UW profile, website

 

UW Bothell Computer Science & Engineering

Michael Stiber, Ph.D.
Professor & Associate Dean
Phone:425-352-5280
Email: stiber@uw.edu
Stiber's UW Bothell profile, website, CV

Marc Dupuis, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone: 425-352-5016
Email: marcjd@uw.edu
Dupuis's UW Bothell profilewebsite

Jeffrey Kim, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
Phone: 425-352-5289
Email: jykim@uw.edu
Kim's UW Bothell profile

Brent Lagesse, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone: 425-352-5313
Email: lagesse@uw.edu
Lagesse's UW Bothell profilewebsite

Geethapriya Thamilarasu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone: 425-352-3180
Email: geetha@uw.edu
Thamilarasu's UW Bothell profile, website

 

UW Bothell School of Business

Sandeep Krishnamurthy, Ph.D.
Dean and Professor
Phone:  425-352-5229
Email: sandeep@uw.edu
Krishnamurthy's UW Bothell profile

 

UW Tacoma Institute of Technology

Yan Bai, Ph.D.
Assoc Prof - Co-Director of Master of Cybersecurity Leadership
Phone: 253-692-5863
Email: yanb@uw.edu
Bai's UW profile

Paulo Barreto, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone: 253-692-4539
Email: pbarreto@uw.edu
Barreto's UW profile

Charles Costarella, M.S.
Lecturer
Phone: 253-777-5387    
Email: costarec@uw.edu
Costarella's UW profile

DC Grant, M.S.
Lecturer
Phone: 253-692-4537    
Email: dcgrant@uw.edu
Grant's UW profile

Anderson C Nascimento, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone: 253-692-5917
Email: andclay@uw.edu
Nascimento's UW profile, website

 

Industry professionals 

Ernie Hayden MIPM CISSP, CEH
Executive Consultant - Securicon, LLC
Email: Ernie.Hayden@securicon.com

Paul Pottorff, CISSP, MCL
Principal Entrant Consulting
Email: pottorff@uw.edu
Pottorff's LinkedIn

Seth Shapiro, MBA
Executive Vice President & Risk Strategist
USI Kibble & Prentice
Shapiro's LinkedIn

Mike Simon, CISSP
Chief Technology Officer of Critical Informatics
Email: masimon@uw.edu
Simon's LinkedIn