University of Washington Bothell


Chancellor Bjong Wolf Yeigh

Bjong Wolf Yeigh (pronounced "YAY") was named UW Bothell's third chancellor on May 21, 2013. Since joining UW Bothell, he has guided the university to record enrollment growth and a dramatic increase in both the number of faculty and degree programs.

Learn more about Chancellor Yeigh


Vice Chancellors

Susan Jeffords, Ph.D.

Vice Chancellor for
Academic Affairs

susan-jeffords-(1).jpgSusan Jeffords joined the University of Washington Bothell in 2007 as Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. Previously she held the position of Vice Provost for Global Affairs for University of Washington Seattle. Jeffords served as a faculty member of the English Department before becoming Chair of the Women Studies Department in 1992.

Read more about Susan Jeffords

Ruth Johnston, Ph.D.

Acting Vice Chancellor for Administration and Planning

Ruth JohnstonRuth Johnston is serving UW Bothell in an interim position; a search to fill the vice chancellor role is under way. Johnston is an Associate Vice President and Chief of Staff at the University of Washington. She is responsible for UW’s Sustainability office and for the UW’s Business Diversity Program. 

Read more about Ruth Johnston

Phil Akers

Vice Chancellor for Advancement and External Relations

Akers.jpgPhil Akers came to UW Bothell in 2016 as Vice Chancellor for Advancement and External Relations. Akers is responsible for leading the overall direction for advancement, alumni, communications and external relations programs. He works closely with the UW Bothell Advisory Board and volunteer leadership, as well as university advancement.

Read more about Phil Akers

Academic Leadership

Campus Administration

View all campus administrators.