Undergraduate Academic Advising Leadership Council


The Undergraduate Academic Advising Leadership Council provides strategic direction and campus-level vision for the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, and recommends campus-wide programs and initiatives that impact undergraduate student achievement and graduation rates at the University of Washington Bothell. 


The Undergraduate Academic Advising Leadership Council believes that a student’s learning and post-graduate success thrives in an environment where faculty and staff join in partnership to assure equity, access, and opportunity for all students. Our vision is to provide a forum for leadership and communication in which innovative strategies enhance student access, success, and satisfaction in academic learning, and transforms institutional culture and professional practice.

UAALC Commitment to Excellence and Shared Values

Council Members align their leadership and management practices within their respective units to support an institution-wide commitment to access and excellence for the student experience at the University of Washington Bothell.

Council Members uphold the following shared values:

  • Promote student policies, systems, and innovative advising that advance connected learning strategies to support student access, retention, and graduation.
  • Develop cross-disciplinary partnerships within the academic and co-curricular advising communities to identify opportunities for improvement and to establish an active network for knowledge-sharing and collective strategic planning.
  • Incentivize professional development, community engagement, and collaboration to develop and maintain a healthy, inclusive, and diverse advising community responsive to the needs of the student community.

Current UAALC Membership

Council Leadership

Beth Alipio, Co-Chair
School of Business

Laura Avila, Co-Chair
School of Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics

Council Membership

Eva Navarijo, School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences
Clay Schwenn, School of Nursing & Health Studies
TBD, School of Educational Studies
Suzanne Yates, Pre-Major Advising

Cinnamon Hillyard, Office of Student Success
Pam Lundquist, Office of the Registrar
Dennis Gagaoin, Office of Admissions
Michele Graaff, GRAD Council Chair
Amy Couto, Community of Professional Advisors Co-Chair
Kaitlin Wright, Community of Professional Advisors Co-Chair