Council of Academic Deans


The Council of Academic Deans (CAD) provides core academic leadership for the UW Bothell campus. It is made up of the Deans of the five UW Bothell schools, the Associate Vice Chancellor for Undergraduate Learning (AVCUL), and the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs (VCAA). It is co-chaired by one Dean (one year term) and the VCAA, with another Dean as vice chair (one year term) and normally transitioning to the role of co-chair in the following year.

We understand academic leadership to include budget and planning with respect to academic objectives, coordination of curricular and co-curricular activities across the entirety of the undergraduate and graduate experience, and oversight of faculty and staff development. We set priorities and provide recommendations to the VCAA on academic matters that cut across schools and other units on campus. 

Priorities for 2019-2020

In the current academic year (2019-2020), CAD is particularly focused on:

  • Ensuring that campus strategic and fiscal planning and the new RCM budget model advance the academic mission of the campus and the 3 Cs (connected learning, cross-disciplinarity, and community engagement)
  • Grounding campus and school planning and goal-setting in the campus’s diversity, engagement, and inclusion mission, working in coordination with the campus’s Diversity and Engagement Councils.
  • Advancing initiatives and reforms designed to enhance the four-year undergraduate experience and the success of all students on campus regardless of their area of study, with special attention to  first and second year students. 
  • Elevating the visibility of the research and scholarly mission of the campus, and providing more robust support for research and scholarly activities, with particular attention to alignment with the 3Cs.
  • Continuing to create professional development opportunities for faculty and staff that build internal leadership capacities for the next phase of the campus’s maturation and the realization of its mission.

Current members of the council

Sharon Jones

Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs
Box 358522

Sharon Jones | 425-352-3575

 Shari Dworkin

School of Nursing & Health Studies
Box 358532

Shari Dworkin | 425-352-5396

Ed BuendiaVice Chair

School of Educational Studies
Box 358531

Ed Buendia | 425-352-5324

Sandeep Krishnamurthy
School of Business

Box 358584

Sandeep Krishnamurthy | 425-352-5229

Bruce Burgett
School of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences

Box 358530

Bruce Burgett | 425-352-5350

Marc ServetnickSchool of STEM

Box 358538

Marc Servetnick | 425-352-3179

Cinnamon Hillyard
Associate Vice Chancellor for Undergraduate Learning

Box 358511

Cinnamon Hillyard | 425-352-3169