School of Nursing and Health Studies

Faculty and Staff

  Research Interests Contact Information Graduate
Faculty
David Allen, PhD, RN
Professor and Director
 
My career has been focused on the intersections among nursing,
health care, nursing education, and social justice. In recent years,
this has included attention to mental illness in prisons and jails,
whiteness and anti-racism, and, most recently, masculinity.
Office: UW1-211E
Phone: 425-352-5396
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: dallen@uwb.edu
Yes
Mary Abrums, PhD, RN
Associate Professor
 
  1. Poverty, faith, and health in the African-American community
  2. Narrative analysis and ethnography
  3. Diversity and disparity issues in health care
  4. Issues in women's health
  5. Maternal and child health--especially adolescents
  6. Interdisciplinary education
  7. Cultural issues in health care
  8. Global/Community Health

Office: UW1-238
Phone: 425-352-5323
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: mabrums@u.washington.edu

Yes
Mary Baroni, PhD, RN
Professor
 
  1. Ecological models of human development
  2. Advanced Practice Nursing - role delineation, credentialing, and policy issues
  3. Interdisciplinary education, practice, and research mentoring, and professional development
  4. Nursing Education
  5. Quantative analyses
Office: UW 1-232
Phone: 425-352-3543
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: mbaroni@uwb.edu
 
Yes

David Baure, RN, MN

Part-time Lecturer

  1. Enhancing Clinical Education for Undergraduate Nursing- I am performing ongoing work and consultation with UW Seattle to create tools and structure to improve the experience of clinical education for nursing students, clinical educators, and acute care nursing staff.
     
  2. Community Health and Global Health Education- Currently researching models and experiences in successful partnerships and teaching modalities of nursing educators in underserved/low resource local and global communities.  

Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: dbaure@uwb.edu

 

 
Bonnie Blachly, MN, RN
Assistant Director for Recruitment and Community Outreach; Lecturer and Clinical Coordinator
 
  1. Gerontology
  2. Hospice and palliative care
  3. Leadership and management in long-term care
  4. Nursing ethics
Office: UW1-211
Phone: 425-352-5290
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: bblachly@uwb.edu
 
 No
 Karen Bowman, MN, RN
Lecturer
 
Occupational and Environmental Health
Leadership, Health Policy and Advocacy
Nurse Wellness through the Lifespan
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: karen@karenbowman.com
Web: http://www.karenbowman.com
No

Butch de Castro, PhD, MSN/MPH, RN
Associate Professor

  Office: UW1-149
Phone:
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: BdeCastro@uwb.edu
 
 
Cheryl Cooke, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor
 
I use a post-structuralist, critical feminist perspective and discourse analysis methods to examine the social determinants of health, how underserved communities grapple with health disparities, and the effects of racism, sexism, and classism on health. I have done this research most extensively with individuals, families, and communities interacting with the criminal justice system. I also collaborate with colleagues at California State University San Bernardino and Seattle University in research on marriage, parenting and child outcomes for multi-racial families. An emerging area of study involves enhancing critical post-structuralist strategies within a clinical framework to better understand mental health issues in underserved populations. Office: UW1-233
Phone: 425-352-3615
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: ccooke@uwb.edu
 
Yes
Mabel Ezeonwu, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor
 
  1.  Global public health policies
  2. Maternal health and nursing workforce policies
  3. Community/public health
  4. Health disparities and socio-cultural issues in health
  5. Health care access amoung vulnerable/underserved populations
Office: UW1-155
Phone: 425-352-3815
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: mezeo@u.washington.edu
 
Yes

Nora Kenworthy, PhD
Assistant Professor

  Office: UW1-237
Phone:
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: NKenworthy@uwb.edu
 
Andrea Kovalesky, PhD, RN
Associate Professor
[On sabbiatical Winter and Spring 2013]
 
  1. Arts in healthcare
  2. Qualitative research, especially grounded theory and autoethnography
  3. Pediatrics
  4. Substance abuse/mental health
  5. Health services through faith communities
Office: UW1-231
Phone: 425-352-5367
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: akovalesky@uwb.edu
Yes
Carol Leppa, PhD, RN
Professor
 
  1. End of life care/palliative care
  2. Health care ethics and policy
  3. International comparative health care systems
  4. Quality of life in long term care
  5. Internet-assisted education
  6. Critical thinking in nursing education
Office: UW1-234
Phone: 425-352-5325
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: cleppa@uwb.edu
 
 Yes
Anne Loustau, PhD, RN
Professor Emeritus
 
Emeritus Email: loustau@u.washington.edu  Yes
´╗┐´╗┐Beth Madison, PhD, RN
Senior Lecturer
 
  1. Effective education of nurses
  2. Creating an educational environment that is inclusive of and interesting to students who come from a variety of life experiences
  3. Education of American Indian nursing students
  4. Areas of practice are community health, women's health, and tribal health
Office: UW1-246
Phone: 425-352-3542
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: emadison@u.washington.edu
 
Yes
Selina Mohammed, PhD, MPH, RN
Associate Professor
 
  1. Health disparities
  2. American Indian health
  3. Interpretive and and critical research methodologoes
  4. Using social justice as a framework to promote population well-being
Office: UW1-147
Phone:  425-352-3619
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: smohammed@uwb.edu
 
 Yes
Elayne Puzan, PhD, RN
Lecturer
 
  1. Promoting women's health
  2. Qualitative research
  3. Multicultural education
  4. Nursing history
  5. Health care policies and politics
Office: UW1-246
Phone: 425-352-3651
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: epuzan@uwb.edu
 
 No
Jerelyn Resnick, PhD, RN
Senior Lecturer
 
  1. Teaching and learning strategies
  2. Assessment of learning
  3. Curriculum planning and evaluation
  4. Technology in education
  5. Diversity and disparity issues in health care
  6. Cultural issues in health care
Office: UW1-153
Phone: 425-352-3645
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: jresnick@uwb.edu
 
Yes

Jamie Shirley, PhD, RN
Lecturer

  1.  Ethics in health care
  2. Health policy
  3. Guardianship
  4. End-of-life care
  5. Representations of health care in the media

Office: UW1-242
Phone: 425-352-3313
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: jamiegs@u.washington.edu

No
Suzanne Sikma, PhD, RN
Professor
[On sabbiatical for 2012-2013 academic year]
 
  1. Consumer directions and self-determination in home and community-based services, policies, and systems
  2. Gerontological nursing, specifically community-based long term care practice
  3. The process of clinical staff development
  4. Health program planning and evaluation
  5. Gerontologic nursing education
Office: UW1-255
Phone: 425-352-5324
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: ssikma@uwb.edu
 
Yes

Andrea Stone, PhD
Assistant Professor

 

Office: UW1-146
Phone:
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: AStone@uwb.edu

 
 Diane Thomason, PhD, RN
Lecturer
 
  Email: dthomason@uwb.edu  No
 Christopher Wade, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor
  1. Genomics and public health practice
  2. Health communication, decision-making, and behavior change
  3. Integration of genomics into nursing curriculums
  4. Influence of enetic risk information on children
  5. Ethical implications of applied genomic technology

Office: UW1-230
Phone: 425-352-5322
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: cwade@uwb.edu

Yes

Maureen West, PhD, RN
Lecturer

  Office: UW1-242
Email: mwest@uwb.edu
 
No
 Linda Westbrook, PhD, RN
Senior Lecturer
 
  1. Understanding the work of nurse managers within health care systems, including the design and evaluation of systems that support effective nursing practice
  2. Occupational health as it relates to clinical nurses
  3. Innovation in community based health promotion program development
Office: UW1-247
Phone: 425-352-5328
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: lwestbrook@uwb.edu
 
 Yes

Mayumi Willgerodt, PhD, MPH, RN
Professor

  Office: UW1-247
Phone:
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: MWillgerodt@uwb.edu
 

Nursing and Health Studies Staff

  Interests Contact information Links
Linda Rylander Bale
Academic Advisor
  Office: UW1-211D
Phone: 425-352-3238
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: lbale@uwb.edu
 
Bonnie Blachly, RN, MN
Assistant Director for Recruitment & Community Outreach
 

Office: UW1-211
Phone: 425-352-5290
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: blachb@uw.edu

 
Kerri Hatfield, MEd
Academic Advisor
Health Studies & Pre-Health
 

Office: UW1-211A
Phone: 425-352-5263
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: khatfield@uwb.edu

 
Rita Johnson
Administrator
  Office: UW1-211
Phone: 425-352-3235
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: rjohnson@uwb.edu
 

Shirley Lee
Office Assistant II

 

Office: UW1-211
Phone: 425-352-5376
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: slee@uwb.edu

 
Sandra Maddox, MS
Academic Advisor
  Office: UW1-211C
Phone: 425-352-3531
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: sbmaddox@u.washington.edu
 
Celinda Smith, MEd
Academic Advisor
 

Office: UW1-211A
Phone: 425-352-3530
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: cesmith@uwb.edu

 
Norma Perez
Program Coordinator
  Office: UW1-211
Phone: 425-352-3199
Fax: 425-352-3237
Email: nperez@uwb.edu
 

Nursing and Health Studies Affiliate Faculty 2013-2014

June Altaras, RN, BSN, MN
Affiliate Instructor
Swedish Medical Center, Edmonds
Nurse Executive

Alex Cahana MD, MAS, DAAPM, FIPP
Affiliate Professor
University of Wahington
Advisor to the Vice Chancellor for Venture Academics

Kay deVries, RN, PhD
Affiliate Assistant Professor
Wellington Hospital, New Zealand
Senior Lecturer
Timothy Ehling, RN, MN
Affiliate Instructor
University of Washington Medical Center, Seattle, WA
Nurs Manager
Dana Nelson-Peterson, RN, MN
Affiliate Instructor
Virginia Mason Medical Center, Seattle, WA
Administrative Director
Ellen Noel, RN, MN
Affiliate Instructor
Virginia Mason Medical Center, Seattle, WA
Clinical Nurse Specialist
Heidi Petry PhD, RN
Affiliate Assistant Professor
University of Applied Science, Zurich, Switzerland
Deputy Head, Research and Development: Institute of Nursing
Julie Planchon Wolf, M.L.I.S.
Affiliate Instructor
University of Washington Bothell
Reference and Instruction/Nursing Librarian
Charleen Tachibaba, RN, MN
Affiliate Assistant Professor
Virginia Mason Medical Center, Seattle, WA
Senior Vice President, Hospital Administrator, and Chief Nursing Officer
Louise Terry, PhD, LLB, FIBMS
Affiliate Assistant Professor
South Bank University, London, United Kingdom
Senior Lecturer
Sandra Tracy, RN, BSN
Clinical Instructor
Supervisor of Health Nursing services, Northshore School District
Vasso Vydelingum, PhD
Affiliate Assistant Professor
University of Surrey
Director of Studies, Doctorate Programs