Nursing and Health Studies Program


Since 1918, The University of Washington (UW) has been a charter member of the regional accrediting agency initially named the Northwest Association of Secondary & Higher Schools and currently named the Northwest Association on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU). The last accreditation evaluation by the NWCCU was in 2003 at which time the university received reaffirmation of its accreditation status through 2013. 

UW became a University with three campuses in 1988 when the legislature established "branch campuses" in Bothell and Tacoma which opened in 1990. Since then, the University has evolved into a coordinated, multi-campus and internationally renowned research university.  The University of Washington Bothell (UWB) enjoys access to the outstanding resources of our prestigious university while being small enough to provide a sense of community. 

Nursing education has been offered on all three of the University of Washington campuses - Bothell, Seattle and Tacoma since 1992 when the RN to BSN curriculum was transitioned from Seattle to the new campuses.

The Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) and Master of Nursing (MN) degrees are offered on all three campuses and fulfill the mission and goals of the University, the School of Nursing, and each respective campus.  Doctoral education (PhD and DNP) are offered only on the Seattle campus. Accreditation through the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) is shared and coordinated through a unique, tri-campus relationship that fosters diversity, enhances program access, and assures ongoing excellence in nursing education.  The last CCNE accreditation evaluation was in 2000 at which time the School of Nursing received reaffirmation of its accreditation through 2010.

The School of Nursing CCNE Self-Study for 2009 is now available.