Center for International Education

OPT

Optional Practical Training (OPT)

OPT Information & Application Packet 

STEM 17-Month Extension Filing Instructions* only for students on OPT working in a STEM field.

OPT is a type of off-campus employment requires prior authorization from CIE and Immigration Services. You must meet with CIE to discuss in advance your eligibility. OPT provides F-1 students with an opportunity for hands-on work experience related to the academic field of study after graduation. Students must apply to USCIS within 90 days before the end date of the quarter in which they anticipate to graduate.

How do I find a job? Students should utilize the resources and services that UW Bothell's Career Center provides, such as creating your resume, how to job hunt online, how to prepare for your interview, and what types of jobs fit your field of study.

What Kinds of Jobs Can I Do While on OPT? Immigration requires you to gain work expeience related to your field of study. The following are helpful websites to assist in creating ideas of the types of jobs that you could consider looking for:

Workshop: How to Apply for OPT

Interested to work in the U.S. after graduation? Come to our informational session to learn about how you can apply for OPT work authorization. CIE will share information to help you through the application process, and answer your questions.

2015-2016 OPT Workshop Schedule : All workshops held in Husky Hall, Room 1160A:
  • Friday, Oct 2 @ 1pm
  • Wednesday, Oct 14 @ 1pm
  • Tuesday, Oct 27 @ 3pm
  • Monday, November 9 @ 3pm
  • Monday, November 23 @ 11am
  • Thursday, December 10 @ 11am
  • Wednesday, January 6 @ 1pm
  • Thursday, January 21 @ 1pm
  • Monday, February 1 @ 3:30pm
  • Tuesday, February 16 @ 3:30pm
  • Friday, March 4 @ 11am
  • Monday, March 14 @ 1pm
  • Tuesday, March 29 @ 3:30pm
  • Monday, April 4 @ 1:30pm
  • Wednesday, April 13 @ 1pm
  • Thursday, April 21 @ 3pm
  • Friday, April 29 @ 11am
  • Monday, May 2 @ 3pm
  • Wednesday, May 11 @ 3pm
  • Tuesday, May 17 @ 1pm
  • Thursday, May 26 @ 1pm
  • Friday, June 3 @ 11am

Workshop: Job Search Strategies for International Students

Looking for work presents special challenges for international students. This workshop will cover best practices and strategies for seeking and applying for jobs. Information on OPT and CPT will also be presented. Students to read the workshop information online as well.

  • Tuesday, October 27, 2015 from 3:00pm - 4:00pm in UW1-103
  • Tuesday, April 5, 2016 from 2:00-3:00pm in UW1-103

OPT Employment Update Form

If you are currently on OPT, you can use the OPT Employment Update Form  to provide CIE with your current/new OPT employment and U.S. address by completing this easy online form. CIE will receive your information and update your SEVIS immigration record.