Who we are

The Diversity Council was born out of the conversation about the 21st Century Campus Initiative, which defines strategic imperatives for the University of Washington Bothell.

The Diversity Council has developed many important diversity intitiatives at the UW Bothell, including:

  • Diversity lectures and conversations
  • Support for diversity clubs and groups on campus
  • Diversity internship
  • Development of a diversity minor.

Our Vision

The Diversity Council is an advisory body established to coordinate and guide ongoing progress in fulfilling the commitment to diversity outlined in the mission statement and identified as a priority through UW Bothell's strategic planning processes. The Diversity Council will advise the Chancellor and Vice Chancellors and make recommendations to inform the work of appropriate decision-making bodies. The Diversity Council will collaborate with the Cabinet, Academic Council, and GFO Executive Council on a regular basis and meet with the Chancellor annually.

2017-18 Members 

(Members to be announced)

Chair: Wayne Au
Professor, School of Educational Studies

2016-17 Members

Chair: Kari Lerum, Associate Professor, School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences 

Student, Staff, and Faculty Leadership representatives

  • Aretha Basu, ASUWB representative
  • Gina Christian, (General Staff Organization) student affairs
  • Casey Mann, (General Faculty Organization), Professor, School of STEM

School and program representatives

  • Min Chen, assistant professor, School of STEM
  • Butch de Castro, Associate Professor, School of Nursing & Health Studies
  • Raissa DeSmet, Lecturer, School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences
  • Ceri Nishihara, Lecturer, School of Business
  • Kira Newman, First year programs

Other units or areas of representation

  • Asaya Plumly, graduate student representative
  • Dana Brolley. Center for International Education
  • Tami Garrard academic staff representative (library)
  • Lisa Hall, media relations and communications
  • Scott Kurashige, advisor to vice chancellor on faculty diversity & initiatives
  • Rosa Lundborg, disability resources for students and veterans services
  • Devi Sandhu, organizational excellence & human resources

Read the year-end report of the 2016-17 Diversity Council