Diversity Council

Who are we?

The Diversity Council was born out of the conversation about the 21st Century Campus Initiative, which defines seven areas that faculty, staff and students wish to bolster as the University of Washington Bothell.

Under the leadership of Chancellor Kenyon Chan, the Diversity Council has developed many important diversity intitiatives at the UW Bothell, including:

  • Cultural events
  • Diversity lectures and conversations
  • Support for diversity clubs and groups on campus
  • academic course work development
  • Diversity internship
  • Development of a diversity minor.

 

Our Vision:

The Diversity Council is an advisory body established to coordinate and guide ongoing progress in fulfilling the commitment to diversity outlined in the mission statement and identified as a priority through UW Bothell's strategic planning processes. The Diversity Council will advise the Chancellor and Vice Chancellors and make recommendations to inform the work of appropriate decision-making bodies. The Diversity Council will collaborate with the Cabinet, Academic Council, and GFO Executive Council on a regular basis and meet with the Chancellor annually.

 

Members:

Name

Title

Department

Email

Wayne Au Chair, Diversity Council, Associate Professor Education wau@uwb.edu
Zakaria Ali Senator ASUWB zali@uwb.edu
Dana Bigham Program Coordinator Education dbigham@uwb.edu
Bill Erdly Associate Professor STEM erdlyww@u.washington.edu
Peggy Frazier Director, Faculty Affairs Academic Affairs pfrazier@uwb.edu
Tami Garrard Access Services Manager Library tgarrard@uwb.edu
Tadesse Ghirmai Assistant Professor STEM tghirmai@uwb.edu
Bruce Kochis Interim Chair (past), Senior Lecturer IAS bkochis@uwb.edu
Chelsea Lubong Student at Large ASUWB cmlubong@uwb.edu
Rosa Lundborg Manager Veterans Services & Disabilities Resources rlundborg@uwb.edu
Ismaila Maidadi Program Manager CUSP imaidadi@uwb.edu
Laura Mansfield Director of Communications Advancement & External Relations lmansfield@uwb.edu
Beth Miguel Alipio Academic Advisor Business bmiguel@uwb.edu
Jill Orcutt Assistant Vice Chancellor Enrollment Management jorcutt@uwb.edu
Yolanda Padilla Assistant Professor IAS ypadilla@uwb.edu
Andrea Ramirez Assistant Director of Student Activities Student Affairs aramirez@uwb.edu
Denise Rollin Director Human Resources drollin@uwb.edu
Joe Shelley Interim Assistant Vice Chancellor Information Technologies jshelley@uwb.edu
Robyn Smidley Program Coordinator Teaching & Learning Center rsmidley@uwb.edu
Susan Vinson Student Success Coordinator CUSP svinson@uwb.edu

 

Did You Know?

The School of STEM will offer four new degrees in 2014.