Issue 25

25th Edition: May 31st, 2013

 

E-Portfolio Showcase: Discovery Core III

Discovery Core III will be having its end of the year E-Portfolio Showcase on June 5th, 6th and 7th in UW1 - 121. All Discovery Core III classes will be participating in the end of the year E-Portfolio Showcase on the last day of regular instruction for their class on either June 5, 6 or 7. The showcase dates for each course are listed below:

June 5th

BCUSP 120 A Crowley, Sharon - SCrowley@uwb.edu | 11:00am - 12:00pm
BCUSP 119 A Finley, Brandon - BFinley@uwb.edu | 11:00am - 12:00pm
BCUSP 120 B Hsu, Howard - Howurd@u.washington.edu | 1:15pm - 2:15pm
BCUSP 120 C B Barrera, Veronica - veronb@uw.edu |3:30pm - 4:30pm
BCUSP 118 C Nixon, David - DNixon@uwb.edu |3:30pm - 4:30pm
BCUSP 118 A CALIAN, NICOLE - nic13@u.washington.edu |9:00am - 10:00am

June 6th

BCUSP 118 F Freeman, Peter - PFreeman@uwb.edu |11:00am - 12:00pm
BCUSP 118 G Richardson, Pete - PRichardson@uwb.edu |11:00am - 12:00pm
BCUSP 119 C Shinneman, Avery - alcs@u.washington.edu | 1:15pm - 2:15pm
BCUSP 120 E
Gregory, Ruth - ruthmg@uw.edu | 3:30pm - 4:30pm
BCUSP 120 D Oppenheimer, Robin - ROppenheimer@uwb.edu | 9:00am -10:00am
BCUSP 118 D Schildkraut, Laura - laurasc@u.washington.edu | 9:00am - 10:00am
BCUSP 119 B Spayde, Robin - RBarnes@uwb.edu | 10:00am -11:00am

June 7th

BCUSP 120 G Porter, Ian - IPorter@uwb.edu | 11:00am -12:00pm
BCUSP 120 F Ambikar, Rucha - rucha@u.washington.edu | 11:00am - 12:00pmSource: Laura Garinger - LGaringer@uwb.edu


Spring 2013 Art Walk

CUSP Presents: A Quarterly Guide to Arts on Campus

Join CUSP Arts faculty, students, and staff in celebrating the accomplishments of our students' work this quarter in the Spring 2013 Art Walk. The list of offerings on display in the final weeks of the quarter is below in CUSP's Quarterly Guide to Arts on Campus. Mark your calendars!

Clamor: Literary Arts Journal
Annual Launch Party: Readings, Performances, & Exhibition.
Wednesday, May 29th | 11am - 3pm | Mobius Hall

BISMCS 472: Community Media Practice
UWave Initial Broadcast "Listening Party."
Wednesday, June 5th | 12pm | Food For Thought Breezeway

BCUSP 120E: Reality Bytes: Intro to Digital Humanities
Final Showcase: Remixes, Montages, & Manifesto.
Thursday, June 6th | 3:30pm - 4:30pm | UW1-121

CUSP 197B&C: Dance
DANCEWorks "In Progress Performance."
ZODIAC Bodies Butoh & Students' Dance Compositions.
Thursday, June 6th | 2:00pm & 6:15pm | UW2-021

BCUSP 191: Art in Public Spaces
Public Art Sculpture Proposals: Ideas of Homelessness.
Friday, June 7th | 11am - 2pm | UW1-Second Floor Vista

BCUSP 197D: Acting
Class Final “Open House” - Scene Study
Monday, June 10th | 5:45pm - 7:15pm | UW2-211

BCUSP 197E: Acting
Class Final “Open House” - Scene Study & Monologues
Tuesday, June 11th | 3:30pm - 5pm | UW2-211

BIS 476: History of Photography
Photographic Final Projects
Daily | 9am - 5pm | IAS Office

Source: Gavin Doyle - gdoyle@uw.edu
 


Seattle International Film Festival: Free Screening of Valentine Road

We are pleased to announce that Rahul Gairola has partnered with SIFF to offer CUSP students complimentary admission to a screening of Valentine Road this Saturday, June 1, 2013, at 2:30pm at SIFF Uptown on Queen Anne Ave. in lower Queen Anne. The director, Marta Cunningham, will be there to meet the audience and do a Q&A.

This is a very important film that examines the intersection of sexuality with race in the context of violence against queers of color.

To print out your voucher, follow the link below:
http://www.eventbrite.com/event/6892247899

"A heartfelt, harrowing, and even-handed exploration of the complex issues surrounding the tragic 2008 hate crime shooting of 15-year-old Larry King and the troubled 14-year-old shooter. A stirring pro-tolerance account that is as shocking as it is revelatory."

For more information visit: http://www.siff.net/festival-2013/valentine-road

Source: Rahul Gairola - rgairola@uw.edu


Congratulations to Professor Rahul Gairola

Professor Rahul Gairola's session proposal, entitled “One Hundred Years of Bollywood,” has been approved for inclusion in the Modern Language Association Annual Convetion 2014 in Chicago. The convention will be held from 9 to 12 January 2014. Sessions begin on the morning of 9 January and continue through the afternoon of 12 January.

To learn more about this convention, please visit: http://www.mla.org/convention

Source: Rahul Gairola - rgairola@uw.edu
 

Did You Know?

UW Bothell is the fourth fastest growing four-year, public university in the nation.