Full-time faculty

Our faculty comes with backgrounds in computer science, software engineering, and closely related disciplines. Faculty are recruited from the nation's top institutions and are chosen for their teaching excellence, academic distinction, cutting-edge research, and real-world experience. The CSS faculty have close links with the Puget Sound area's most innovative high-tech companies. Students are encouraged to interact with professors in research projects.

Faculty Profiles

 


Laurie AndersonLaurie Anderson

Senior Lecturer

lja3@uw.edu
UW1-260C

Research: Communications; Applied Computing; Active Learning


Hazeline AsuncionHazeline Asuncion

Associate Professor

hazeline@uw.edu
UW1-271C

Research: Software Traceability; Data Provenance; Software Architecture


Min ChenMin Chen

Assistant Professor

minchen2@uw.edu
UW1-260K

Research: Multimedia Computing; Data Mining; Database Systems


Frank CiochFrank Cioch

Professor Emeritus

cioch@uw.edu

 


Marc DupuisMarc Dupuis

Assistant Professor

marcjd@uw.edu
UW1-260L

Research: Cyber Security and Privacy; Human Factors; Information Assurance


William ErdlyWilliam Erdly

Associate Professor

erdlyww@uw.edu
UW1-234

Research: Knowledge Management Systems; Game Design for Health Care; Computer Science Research Methods/Analytics


Munehiro FukudaMunehiro Fukuda

Professor and Chair

mfukuda@uw.edu
UW1-271T

Research: Parallel Programming; Parallel Simulation; Distributed Computing Systems


Charles JackelsCharles Jackels

Professor Emeritus

jackels@uw.edu
HH-1323

 


Jeffrey KimJeffrey Kim

Senior Lecturer

jykim@uw.edu
UW1-271S

Research: Software Engineering Work Practice; Distributed Collaboration; Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship


Wooyoung KimWooyoung Kim

Assistant Professor

kimw6@uw.edu
UW1-260U

Research: Computational Biology; Biological Motif; Network Biology


Mark KochanskiMark Kochanski

Senior Lecturer

markk@uw.edu
UW1-113

Research: Education; Software Engineering; Computing Across Disciplines


Brent LagesseBrent Lagesse

Assistant Professor

lagesse@uw.edu
UW1-260G

Research: Cyber Security; Adversarial Machine Learning; Pervasive Computing

Johnny LinJohnny Lin

Senior Lecturer

jwblin@uw.edu
UW1-260R

Research: Scientific Computing; Assessment; Science, Ethics, and Policy


Rob NashRob Nash

Senior Lecturer

rynn@uw.edu
UW1-271R

Research: Programming; Computer Science Education; Game Themed Computer Science


Clark OlsonClark Olson

Associate Professor

cfolson@uw.edu
UW1-271B

Research: Computer Vision; Data Clustering; Robot Navigation


Erika F. ParsonsErika F. Parsons

Senior Lecturer

efuente@uw.edu
UW1-260S

Research: Applied Machine Learning; High Performance Computing; Data Analytics


Yang PengYang Peng

Assistant Professor

yangpeng@uw.edu
UW1-260T

Research: Wireless and Sensor Networks; Internet of Things; Cyber-Physical Systems


Arkady RetikArkady Retik

Lecturer

aretik@uw.edu
UW1-260B

Research: Software Engineering and Management; Entrepreneurship; Education


Dong SiDong Si

Assistant Professor

dongsi@uw.edu
UW1-271H

Research: Computational Science; Multi-dimensional Data Analysis; Bioinformatics


David SochaDavid Socha

Assistant Professor

socha@uw.edu
UW1-260V

Research: Computer Supported Cooperative Work; Cooperative and Human Aspects of Software Engineering; Design Science


Michael StiberMichael Stiber

Professor and Associate Dean

stiber@uw.edu
UW1-360D

Research: Computational Neuroscience; Scientific Data Visualization and Management; Artificial Neural Networks


Kelvin SungKelvin Sung

Professor

ksung@uw.edu
UW1-260O

Research: Computer Graphics; Augmented/Virtual Reality; Videogames


Geethapriya ThamilarasuGeethapriya Thamilarasu

Assistant Professor

geetha@uw.edu
UW1-260H

Research: Wireless Security; Mobile Health; Internet of Things


Carol ZanderCarol Zander

Principal Lecturer Emeritus

zander@uw.edu
UW1-260

Research: Computer Science Education; Software Design; Threshold Concepts/Skills