2014-15 Research Seminars

Spring 2015

Friday April 10, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB-240

In-Koo Cho, UIUC
Search, Adverse Selection and Market Clearing

Friday May 1, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB-240

Sri Devi Duvvuri, UW Bothell
Deducing Consumer Purchase Behavior Across Categories

Friday May 8, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB-240

Kristian Allee, Wisconsin
Private versus Public Corporate Ownership: Implications for Future Profitability

Friday May 22, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB-240

Anny Wei, UW Bothell
Workshop on Matching Methods

Friday May 29, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB-240

Sophie Leroy, UW Bothell
The Effect of Regulatory Focus on Attention Residue and Performance during Interruptions

Friday June 5, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB-240

Jenny Zhang, UBC
What are the costs of admitting mistakes for foreign firms?


Winter 2015

Friday January 9, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB-240

Ralph Heidl

Friday January 16, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB-240

Dalhia Mani, Strategic Management

Friday January 23, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB-240

Hemant Bhargava, UC Davis

Tuesday January 27, 9:15 - 10:45 a.m., UWBB-205

Alejandro Francetich, Economics

Tuesday January 29, 9:30 - 11:00 a.m., UWBB-205

Emerson Melo, Economics

Friday January 30, 2:00 - 4:00 p.m., DISC-162

Ram Charan

Tuesday February 3, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UW1-280

Cigdem Korpeoglu, Economics

Friday February 6, 10:00 a.m., UWBB-240

Rajib Doogar, UW Bothell
The impact of market leadership on audit pricing

Tuesday February 10, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UW1-280

Emil Temnyalov, Economics

Friday February 13, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB-240

Edward Schlee, Arizona State
Coverage Denied: Excluding Bad Risks, Inefficiency, and Pooling in Insurance

Friday February 27, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB-240

Ying Li, UW Bothell
The Effect of Local Long-term Institutional Ownership on Bank Loan Pricing – Geography-related Soft Information, Conflict of Interests, and Mechanisms

Friday March 6, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB-240

Sridhar Ramamoorti, Kennesaw State University
What is Relevance?

Friday March 13, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB-240

Anny Wei, UW Bothell
Engaging the Wisdom of Crowds: Structural Analysis of Dynamic User Contributions in Online Communities


Fall 2014

Friday September 26, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB 230

Hyung Il Oh, UWB
Why do investors react positively (negatively) to negative (positive) pre-announcements?

Friday October 3, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB 230

Camelia Bejan, UW Bothell
Performance-Based Contracts, Monitoring and Fraud

Friday October 10, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB 230

Haluk Demirkan, UW Tacoma
Driving innovation through analytics, smart services & internet-of-things

Friday October 17, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB 230

Joydeep Chatterjee, UW Bothell
Effect of Mutual Knowledge in Offshore Outsourced Software Development Project

Thursday October 23, 3:00 - 4:30 p.m., UW1 040

Professor Ritu Agarwal, Maryland, (Dean's Distinguished Speaker Series)
Vocal Minority and Silent Majority: How do Online Ratings Reflect Population Perceptions of Quality?

(Community talk, Friday October 23)

Friday, October 31, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB 230

Ying Li, UW Bothell
Geographical Proximity and Creditor-Like Equity Owners - The Case of Local Bank Trusts

Wednesday November 5, 9:15 - 10:45 a.m., UW2-305

Yu Gao, Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota
Trading Information Transparency and Credit Rating Efficiency: Evidence from the Bond Market

Friday November 7

2nd UW Bothell Accounting and Business Ethics Conference

Monday November 10, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UW2-305

Sabrina Chi, The Paul Merage School of Business, University of California Irvine
The Geographic Dispersion of Google Search and the Market Reaction to Earnings Announcements

Friday November 14, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB 230

Ram N.V. Ramanan, UC Davis
Synergy between Accounting Disclosures and Forward-looking Information in Stock Prices

Tuesday November 18, 10:15 - 11:45 a.m., UW1-110

Hwang Kim, Cornell
Exploring Dependencies Across Multiple Online Social Networks: The Role of Overlapping Friends

Thursday November 20, 10:15 - 11:45 a.m., UW1-110

Hyoryung Nam, Erasmus University
Paper 1: The Informational Value of Social Tagging Networks
Paper 2: Constructing Digital Brand Associative Networks Using Social Tags

Tuesday December 2, 2:00 - 3:30 p.m., UW2-340

Song Lin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management
Add-on Policies under Vertical Differentiation: Why Do Luxury Hotels Charge for Internet Whereas Economy Hotels Do Not?

Thursday December 4, 1:30 - 3:00 p.m., UW2-211

Bahriye Cesaret, The University of Texas at Dallas, Naveen Jindal School of Management
A Behavioral Study of Capacity Allocation in Revenue Management

Friday December 5, 10:30 a.m. - Noon, UWBB-230

Gülru Özkan-Seely, Georgia Tech, Ernest Scheller Jr. College of Business
Dynamic knowledge transfer and knowledge development for product and process design teams