UW Bothell Awards

DTA Information

The Distinguished Teaching Award (DTA)

Selection Process

The Distinguished Teaching Award selection committee, appointed by the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, is chaired by a previous DTA recipient and includes at least three faculty members, a current student representative and an alumni representative. The committee follows a process, in short: after reviewing the nomination letters, the committee invites some or all nominees to submit a complete dossier of supporting materials. Based on consideration of dossiers, and criteria listed below a formal recommendation is made to the Vice Chancellor.

Criteria for Selection

Criteria have been developed to help identify exceptionally meritorious teaching. Such teaching:

  • Exceeds the highest standards
  • Serves as a model of inspired and challenging teaching
  • Has led students to academic and personal success
  • Stimulates and supports active and continuous learning
  • Inspires and cultivates excellence in the achievements of all students
  • Exemplifies openness to a broad range of ethical and intellectual inquiry

These criteria are met in a variety of ways.  Examples include, but are not limited to:

  • Development of innovative teaching methods
  • Applying effective and timely ways of assessing student learning to improve instruction as well as learning
  • Incorporating current scholarship into course content
  • Integration of multiple disciplines into one's teaching
  • Challenging and expanding traditional ways of knowing
  • Deepening multicultural understanding
  • Being an accessible and effective mentor outside the classroom
  • Finding ways of enriching clinical experiences
  • Offering independent studies and internships that consistently stimulate, inspire, and move beyond conventional expectations
  • Demonstrating leadership in curriculum development within the teacher's own course offerings and at the program and cross-program levels

Nominations for the 2016 DTA will be accepted through December 18, 2015.